We Now Have 8 Planets, Or Is It 12?

August 29th, 2006


The International Astronomical Union (IAU) has formally defined what is and what is not a planet, and Pluto lost out. We now have 8 planets and 4 “dwarf planets” (of which Pluto is one). But only a small number of the IAU’s members actually voted, and there is a backlash in the works.


Leave a Reply


HTML: You can use these tags.